Begin at the beginning

Is it a bucket list item?

A mid-life crisis?

I don’t really fully know the answer. But here we are, at the beginning of a brand new adventure in my life.

img_6017
Demonstrating my desire to be a bad mannered girl!

Since I was a little girl at school in Northern Ireland, writing short stories and poems in my jotters, I have loved to express myself in writing. My confidence levels have waxed and waned throughout the years, but having spent the last few months writing a travel blog of my travels in South America with my partner Chris, I have decided that now is the time to make a serious move towards creating the novel that’s been brewing in my brain for about two years.

Upon starting the South America blog, I had no idea how much I would enjoy the process. Gradually the word count of each post crept up and up – I couldn’t stop writing! I took the opportunity to take a career break, having spent the last three years in quite stressful administrative positions, and move into part time employment to give myself the time to work on the novel.

I’ve begun this blog as a way to keep up the writing and to build up contacts and friendships in the writing world, and as a medium upon which to share some of the ideas for the novel to see how they are received.

As such, the blog posts will form a fairly mixed bag of interests, but will include among their number thought processes that will ultimately inform the decisions I make for my characters.

I’m Sarah Jayne, and I’m starting a new adventure.

Thank you for sharing it with me!

Sarah

Leave a Reply

