Travel Stories: Underwater Photography

One of my absolute favourite pastimes is to scuba dive, and I thought I’d share some of my favourite photographs and tell you a little about the subjects.

First up is a white-spotted hermit crab, Dardanus megistos, encountered in the Gulf of Thailand in 2009.

Dardanus megistos - White-Spotted Hermit Crab
Dardanus megistos – White-Spotted Hermit Crab

As underwater photography goes, this is not the best image in the world – nor even in my own portfolio – but I really enjoy the contrast of the colours within the shot. The hairy legs have picked up sand particles, adding to the fuzziness of its legs and claws.

I took this snap on a diving trip I took to Thailand in 2009. My friend Jess was working as a dive instructor on the island of Ko Tao and I decided to take advantage of the reason to visit. Arriving in Bangkok, I took a long-distance bus straight to the south of the country, then perched myself on the back of a motorbike to get to the ferry that took me to the island. Most of my time there was spent either diving or preparing/recovering!

My hermit crab here has chosen a fairly scruffy shell as its temporary home, but it sets off the deep red and orange of the exoskeleton, especially when set against the background of the blue sea and the foreground of [over-exposed] white sand.

Sarah

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

